When I was young and starting out at City College, chasing the dream of journalism I wanted to expose the truth. Big corporations, sleazy dealings, everything the people of the Shady City needed to know to keep them safe. I had aspirations of doing my part to make the world around me a little better.

“You have your head in the clouds, son,” my cynical father had said to me. “It’s not as simple as that.”

I dismissed him then. He had barely ventured away from his mechanics shop in the sleepy little suburb of Jamestown.

He warned me that things weren’t quite as simple in the city. Heroes? Villains? Everyone had their own agendas and motives. It was my job as the reporter to separate fact from fiction and let the chips fall where they may. Dangerous? Of course it was. I confronted some of the most dangerous people to call Coldford home. Confessions killer, Tracey Campbell, Rodney Weir when a floor of his hotel was blown I chased it all. I was there the day that Alice Beckingridge walked down the steps of the Court House refusing comment when she had just been acquitted of murder.

My wife, Theresa, hated it.

“One of these days you’ll not come back to me,” she cried.

I couldn’t stop there though. The more I dug into the filth and mud that was the Shady City the worse I saw underneath. The stories were too good. That I also admit. Chasing the glory of being the first to reveal all is where it went wrong. I lost sight of what was important. If I had known that I was going to lose everything I would have perhaps chosen a different, safer path. But, I did lose everything – family, career, friends. I don’t know what is waiting for me out there but they don’t frighten me. I can’t erase the past but I sure has Hell can change the future. As they tear at each other’s throats they will learn that it is words of truth that will win the day in the end. They will not silence me. They can’t hide the truth forever. As my story leads me beyond the Knock Knock club I may have nothing to lose but I still have my story.


Volume 1 is free to read here on Vivika Widow Online so if you’re ready to chase the story of your life then dive right in. Issue 1 is also free to download for Kindle today only! Click HERE.

KNOCK, KNOCK: Episode 1: Welcome to the Club

Knock, Knock: Episode 2: Don’t Come Knockin’

Knock, Knock: Episode 3: Sleep Tight Sam

Knock, Knock: Episode 4: Take A Bow

Knock, Knock: Episode 5: A Room With A View

Knock, Knock: Episode 6: Picking Up Strange Women

Knock, Knock: Episode 7: No Kids Allowed

Knock, Knock: Episode 8: Kids These Days

Knock, Knock: Episode 9: Shootin’ The Breeze

Knock, Knock: Episode 10: Calling Last Orders


1 Comment

Let us know what you think ...

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.